The word "yoga" derives from the Sanskrit root yuj ("to yoke") which means "to join" or "unite”. Basically it is the "union of the individual atma (soul) with Paramatma (Supreme being), the universal soul." This can be defined as union with the Divine by integration of body, mind, and spirit.

The Bhagavad-Gita distinguishes several types of "yoga", corresponding to the duties of different nature of people. In it, Bhagwan Krishna describes the following Yogas:


Karma yoga: the yoga of "action" in the world.

Jnana yoga: the yoga of knowledge and intellectual endeavor.

Bhakti yoga: the yoga of devotion to a deity.

Raja yoga: the yoga of meditation

Patanjali's text sets forth eight "limbs" of yoga practice.

1. Yama: Five ethical guidelines regarding moral behavior towards others:

  • Ahimsa: Nonviolence

  • Satya: Truthfulness

  • Asteya: Non theft

  • Brahmacharya: No lust

  • Aparigraha: Non covetousness

2. Niyama: Five ethical guidelines regarding moral behavior towards oneself:

  • Shaucha: Cleanliness

  • Santosha: Contentment

  • Tapas: Sustained Practice

  • Svadhyaya: Self Study

  • Ishwara pranidhana: Surrender to God

3. Asana: Practice of yoga postures.

4. Pranayama: control of Vital Breath the “Prana”.

5. Pratyahara: Withdrawal of the senses, So that the exterior world is not a distraction from the interior world within oneself.

6. Dharana: Concentration, Fixing the attention on a single object

7. Dhyana: Meditation. Building upon Dharana, the concentration is no longer focused on a single thing but is all encompassing.

8. Samadhi: Bliss. Building upon Dhyana, the transcendence of the self through meditation. Super-conscious state or trance (state of liberation).

Hatha Yoga was invented to provide a form of physical purification and training that would prepare aspirants for the higher training that is called Raja Yoga. Hatha yoga is mostly yoga that prepares the body for the spiritual path via physical and breathing exercises, and asceticism. It prepares and conditions the body so that the mind can practice meditation more or less without obstacles.

The main component of Hatha yoga is yoga postures, or, in Sanskrit, asanas. In our times, when we speak about yoga, we usually mean physical yoga exercises or asanas. The word asana means comfortable, stable pose. The yogis have discovered that certain positions of the body can give human beings qualities that they do not have or that are in deficit.

Each of these asanas have specific physical and mental benefits.


Adho Mukha Svanasana Downward Facing Dog
Ananda Balasana Happy Baby Pose
Anantasana Sleeping Vishnu Pose
Ardha Chandrasana Half Moon Pose
Ardha Matsyendrasana Half Lord of the Fishes Pose
Ashtanga Namaskara Knees, Chest, and Chin
Baddha Konasana Cobbler's Pose
Bakasana Crow Pose
Balasana Child's Pose
Bhujangasana Cobra Pose
Chaturanga Dandasana Four Limbed Staff Pose
Dandasana Staff Pose
Dhanurasana Bow Pose
Eka Pada Galavasana Flying Crow Pose
Eka Pada Rajakapotasana One Legged King Pigeon Pose
Garudasana Eagle Pose
Gomukhasana Cow Face Pose
Halasana Plow Pose
Hanumanasana Monkey Pose
Janu Sirsasana Head to Knee Pose
Lolasana Pendant Pose
Matsyasana Fish Pose
Natarajasana King Dancer Pose
Navasana Boat Pose
Padmasana Lotus Pose
Parivritta Ardha Chandrasana Revolved Half Moon Pose
Parivritta Parsvakonasana Revolved Side Angle Pose
Parivritta Trikonasana Revolved Triangle Pose
Parsva Bakasana Side Crow
Parsvottonasana Pyramid Pose
Pincha Mayurasana Forearm Stand
Salamba Sarvangasana Shoulder stand
Salamba Sirsasana Headstand
Shavasana Corpse Pose
Setu Bandha Sarvangasana Bridge Pose
Shalabasana Locust Pose
Tadasana Mountain Pose
Tittibhasana Firefly Pose
Upavistha Konasana Seated Wide Legged Straddle
Urdhva Dhanurasana Wheel Pose
Urdhva Hastasana Raised Hands Pose
Urdhva Muhka Shvanasana Upward Facing Dog
Ustrasana Camel Pose
Utkatasana Awkward Chair Pose
Uttanasana Standing Forward Bend
Utthita Parsvakonasana Extended Side Angle
Utthita Trikonasana Triangle Pose
Vasisthasana Side Plank Pose
Vasisthasana Variations Side Plank
Variarions Virabhadrasana I Warrior I
Virabhadrasana II Warrior II
Virabhadrasana III Warrior III
Virasana Hero Pose
Vrksasana Tree Pose
Vrschikasana Scorpion Pose


Here we give you some yoga poses that benefit certain parts of body:

Yoga Poses for Abdominals

Boat Pose Navasana
Crow Pose Bakasana
Firefly Pose Tittibhasana
Flying Crow Pose Eka Pada Galavasana
Forearm Stand Pincha Mayurasana
Half Moon Pose Ardha Chandrasana
Headstand Pose Salamba Sirsasana
Pendant Pose Lolasana
Shoulder stand Salamba Sarvangasana
Side Plank Pose Vasisthasana


Yoga Poses for Arm Strength:

Crow Pose Bakasana
Downward Facing Dog Adho Mukha Svanasana
Firefly Pose Tittibhasana
Four Limbed Staff Pose Chaturanga Dandasana
Upward Facing Dog Urdhva Muhka Svanasana
Warrior II Virabhadrasana II


Yoga Poses for Legs

Awkward Chair Pose Utkatasana
Downward Facing Dog Adho Mukha Svanasana
Eagle Pose Garudasana
Four Limbed Staff Pose Chaturanga Dandasana
King Dancer Pose Natarajasana
Mountain Pose Tadasana
Warrior I Virabhadrasana I
Warrior II Virabhadrasana II
Warrior III Virabhadrasana III


Yoga Poses for the Spine

Bow Pose


Bridge Pose

Setu Bandha Sarvangasana

Camel Pose


Cobra Pose


Downward Facing Dog

Adho Mukha Svanasana

Fish Pose


Half Lord of the Fishes Pose

Ardha Matsyendrasana

King Dancer Pose


Locust Pose


Plow Pose


Upward Facing Dog

Urdhva Muhka Svanasana

Wheel PoseUrdhva Dhanurasana